The Magic 8-Ball

I considered renaming my blog to “Still in Deutschland” (and still enjoying it!) But, Beer and Pretzels just seemed more comfortable and homey. I say all this because we expected to be in Germany just three years and now we have launched our fourth. This is (gulp) home, for now. But, our German landlord has decided to put our house up for sale. Will it sell? Will we have to move to a new house here and then move again next summer to America? Or, will we move but still stay in Germany for another couple years? And, so on. Any answers to these questions would be like those uncertain Magic 8-Ball answers:

● Reply hazy, try again
● Ask again later
● Better not tell you now
● Cannot predict now
● Concentrate and ask again

The thing is, I’m not worried. Those questions occasionally pop up into my mind but are swept away with a shrug. My mindset is different now. Uncertainty is a way of life for an Expat and there’s no sense struggling with it. Just live, keep exploring, make some commitments even if you have no idea if you’ll be here long enough to finish them, and keep yourself and your family happy.

While some things change, others stay the same. I still love picking up my children from school because I hear true confessions, stories, and the occasional one-liners. My favorite so far this year is from Nora, said in complete exasperation: “Oh, I don’t know Jack! I haven’t spoken Martian in years!” I’ve also learned Nora thinks the lunch ladies working in the cafeteria are so annoying they should be replaced by robots. She’s serious and she’s had just about enough of it.

2 responses to “The Magic 8-Ball

  1. What a great writer you are! It is so true what you said about life. I truly cannot wait to meet you in person!! xoxo-Blaire

  2. If we can’t get Obama out of office this November, I may live in Germany! Seriously, I wouldn’t be in any rush to get back here if America doesn’t wake up. I just HOPE there’s a CHANGE for the sake of our country.

Leave a Reply

