Travel, Trauma, Truth or Fiction

Tomorrow I leave for America for 3.5 weeks.  I haven’t been there for 9 months which isn’t that long but it seems like a lifetime ago. Now is the time to make my way from the Eastern Seaboard to the Midwest visiting family, friends, new babies and loved ones with serious illnesses.  All of this will culminate with a long stop in Holland, Michigan on Lake Michigan, my ultimate place of tranquility. Along with the sentimentality is a laundry list I’ve prepared of items to purchase and bring back to Germany. Whole Foods, Target, the Gap, you have been warned.

In the meantime, we’ve just survived 10 days of summer camp–tennis and swimming.  All instruction is in German and it freaked Nora out a bit.  Each day started with tears even though she can speak and understand a lot of German. Well, hopefully next summer will be easier! Right???

The travels continued whether it was us or visitors.  My brother Michael and his wife Marilyn and daughter Clare spent 2 weeks with us in May.  Then Gary and I went to the Cote D’Azur and it was all I imagined it could be.  Beautiful scenery and people, delicious food….I could get used to that.  Then our next set of visitors (Brad and Jessica +3) arrived from Albuquerque, where we used to live. Along with their good company, they brought provisions I have missed and it all had something to do with green chile.

Lastly, I am looking forward to a class I’m starting in September: Creative Fiction.  To me, there is nothing funnier or more interesting than writing about the truth.  But, I’m dying to learn how to write fiction.  I’ve made a few feeble attempts in the past which I’ve deleted in embarrassment. So, if my blog takes a sudden turn and I’m talking about my life as a magician and how I ride an elephant to work, you’ll know I’ve veered into fiction.

Leave a Reply

